The Recorders’ Association of Missouri (RAM) was founded in 1984 in Kansas City, Missouri at the Annual Conference of the Circuit Clerks and Recorders Association. The Recorders voted to establish an organization having the sole purpose of educating Recorders of Deeds in the State of Missouri on all aspects of recording law and procedures.
The Office of Recorder of Deeds serves an essential role in government. It maintains and preserves some of our community's most important records; these records are highly important to individuals and businesses. The Recorder of Deeds records and files documents of writing affecting real property or personal property, subdivision plats, federal and state tax liens, and other instruments of writing. The Recorder’s Office also issues marriage licenses. 

Have questions about what Recorders do? Check out RAM's video on the history and functions of Recorders of Deeds. 

The goal of the Recorders’ Association of Missouri is to ensure that Recorders of Deeds have the necessary tools to provide high-quality, professional services for their counties. The association works hard to provide a strong continuing education program to prepare for the future, including the annual training conference, so that both the consumers of the office and the taxpayers are well served by Recorders.
We have created this website to provide information to both the Recorders and their customers. We have kept the information generic enough to apply to all offices, so please check with the local recorder for any county-specific guidelines and fees.

2019-2020 Officers of the Association


PRESIDENT: Cheryl Dawson-Spaulding, Greene County

VICE-PRESIDENT: Gerald Smith, St. Louis County

SECRETARY: George Bays, Mississippi County 

TREASURER: Loretta Brookshier, Linn County

PAST PRESIDENT: Jamie Nichols, Saline County


Past Presidents

1984-1986, Honorable Thomas Sloan*, Buchanan County
1986-1988, Honorable Sharon Quigley Carpenter, City of St. Louis
1988-1990, Honorable Virginia Pehle, Audrain County
1990-1991, Honorable Ida Cox, Platte County
1991-1992, Honorable Donald 'T-Bone' Hall*, Dunklin County
1992-1994, Honorable Edie Swingle Neil, Jasper County
1994-1996, Honorable Bettie Johnson, Boone County
1996-1998, Honorable Virginia Pehle, Audrain County
1998-2000, Honorable Mark Price, Randolph County
2000-2002, Honorable Kay Asbell, Stoddard County
2002-2003, Honorable Linda Montgomery, Greene County
2003-2006, Honorable Kenneth Dillon, Callaway County
2006-2008, Honorable Tom Dirnbeger*, Scott County
2008-2010, Honorable Lenora Hyder, Newton County
2010-2011, Honorable Carole Wilkerson, Cedar County
2011-2013, Honorable Donnie Snelling, Camden County

2013-2016, Honorable Jan Jones, Johnson County

2016-2017, Honorable Barbara Hall, St. Charles County

2017-2018, Honorable Robert Dixon, Taney County

2018-2019, Honorable Jamie Nichols, Saline County


2019-2020 Standing Committees of the Association



Chair: Peggy Yamintz, Ste. Genevieve

Barb Clevenger, Pettis

Audrey Buzzard, Shelby

Dana Pritchard, Perry 


Chair: Loretta Brookshier, Linn

Cheryl Dawson Spaulding, Greene

Gerald Smith, St. Louis County

Jamie Nichols, Saline


Chair: Barbara Clevenger, Pettis

Cindy Stout, Wayne


Chair: Mary Dempsey, St. Charles 

Nora Dietzel, Boone

Dottie Crenshaw, Lincoln



Chair: Carole Wilkerson, Cedar

Tara Mason, Scott



Please visit this page for a complete listing of RAM Legislative Committee members.


Chair: Mark Price, Randolph

Eric Stallo, Chariton

Drew Blattner, Cape Girardeau


Chair: Carol Poindexter, Polk

Eliza Beasing, Atchison

Nancy Boles, Morgan

Kim Cook, Crawford

Kelly Hall, Christian

Harla Friesz, Marion

Pauline Peterman, Carter


Chair: Gloria Boyer, Platte

Co-Chair: JoAnn Marshall, DeKalb

All Northwest District Members

PROGRAM CONFERENCE 2021 Cape Girardeau 

Chair: Kay Asbell, Stoddard 

Co-Chair: George Bays, Mississippi 

All Southeast District Members



Chair: Gloria Boyer, Platte

Ronda Ake, Henry

Kay Asbell, Stoddard

Loretta Brookshier, Linn

Janis Deimeke, Audrain

Peggy Yamnitz, Ste. Genevieve



Chair: Robin Kordes, Phelps

Lindsay Koch, Texas

Georgia Esser, Cooper

Jennifer Metcalf, Franklin

Melissa Bevans, Clark

District Divisions



Chair: Robin Kordes, Phelps County

Co-Chair: Peggy Yamnitz, Ste. Genevieve County

Callaway, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, Lincoln, Maries, Montgomery, Osage, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, St. Charles, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, St. Louis City, Warren, Washington



Chair: Harla Friesz, Marion County

Co-Chair: Janis Deimeke, Audrain County

Adair, Audrain, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan 


Chair: Gloria Boyer, Platte County

Co-Chair: JoAnn Marshall, DeKalb County

Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Platte, Ray, Worth



Chair: Kay Asbell, Stoddard County

Co-Chair: George Bays, Mississippi County

Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscott, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Wayne



Chair: Stacy Satterfield, Dallas County

Co-Chair: Cheryl Dawson Spaulding, Greene County

Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster, Wright



Chair: Georgia Esser, Cooper County

Co-Chair: Ronda Ake, Henry County

Bates, Benton, Boone, Camden, Cass, Cole, Cooper, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Pettis, Saline, St. Clair


© 2018 by The Recorders Association of Missouri